MEDIA RELEASE 9th July 2017

Reserve Landmark Reigns in Bendigo Cup

By GRV's Website

Second reserve Landmark took full advantage of an unlikely race morning call-up to take out the Group 2 Triple M Bendigo Cup Final (425m) on Friday night.

Trained by Robert Britton, Landmark (\$23.30) had initially been the second reserve for the \$47,000 to-the-winner Cup after running an eye-catching second in his heat to defending champion Aston Bolero (\$6.50), running home strongly from near-last.



First reserve Jesaulenko had been elevated into the field earlier in the week following the scratching of rails runner Aussie Infrared.

Landmark then fortuitously moved into box one following the withdrawal of Black Mumbo, necessitating a change of Friday night plans for Brendan Pursell, who trains Landmark in conjunction with Robert Britton, and his partner Emma Wardlaw.

"We found out at 9:20am this morning that he had gained a start," Emma Wardlaw said.

"We were planning on having a rare afternoon away from the greyhounds and were going to head to Crown Casino

tonight with one of Brendan's friends. But we knew there was a slight chance there could be a second scratching so we were sort of prepared to come up to Bendigo instead.

"It was such a hot field tonight, but when he drew box one we thought he was in with some chance."

Despite an excellent record off the red, five wins and five placings from 11 starts, Landmark was a \$23.30 outsider, with fastest heat winner Zinzan Brooke, trained by Brooke Ennis, the \$3.20 favourite.

Landmark was last out of the boxes, with 2016 Cup winner Aston Bolero, Jesaulenko and exciting youngster Kouta Mayhem all prominent early.

Aston Bolero momentarily took the lead but Landmark drove through along the inside and after hitting the front turning for home he dashed clear, defeating Aston Bolero by 2.67 lengths in 23.70sec.

"It has been a pretty courageous effort by the greyhound to win because he missed nearly three months of racing when he injured some tendons in a heat of the (2016) Shepparton Cup last September," Wardlaw said.

"We will be heading back to Shepparton with him in a couple of weeks for the Shepparton Cup heats again, so hopefully he'll have better luck this time around.

"Brendan and I live on Robert's property. Brendan moved to Victoria in February 2016. We have our own set of kennels on Robert's property with 29 greyhounds of our own. Landmark is the best of them along with Flyrite. "Brendan was formerly involved in harness racing but is loving training the greyhounds, and I work as a nurse at the Royal Children's Hospital in Melbourne. I help him out with the greyhounds as much as I can."

It was Landmark's 19th win from 52 starts at his first appearance in a Group event.

He had also been second reserve for the Warrnambool Cup in May, which was won by another Robert Britton-prepared outsider in Leo's Gift.



Landmark with Brendan Purcell after winning the Bendigo Cup (All Pics Clint Anderson)

A son of Where's Pedro and Tiz Tears, Landmark is owned and bred by Helen Ivers, and like Britton's champion stayer of recent years Space Star hails from the Ivers family's potent Tears bloodline.

On a wonderful night of feature racing at Bendigo, the \$10,000 to-the-winner Hip Pocket Bendigo Winter Cup Final over 660m was won by Reefton Treasure, trained by Anthony Azzopardi, while the GRV Vic Bred Maiden Final, worth \$7,500 to-the-winner, was taken out by Ian Cockerell's Garick Olivander.

The first feature race on the night was the Ready 2 Race Mid-Year Bonus (425m), open to the top eight prize money earners from GRV's 2016 Ready 2 Race Sales at Bendigo last November. The winner was the Craig Trehernetrained Lucky Love, who was sold for a Ready 2 Race record \$31,000 at the sales, and this was her sixth win from 21 starts. She collected a \$5,000 first prize, taking her career earnings beyond \$16,000.

"She is the first greyhound my husband and I have ever bought from the Ready 2 Race Sales and watching her race has brought us so much joy," said owner Leanne Love. The night also saw a presentation of a cheque for Southern Cross Austereo's national fundraiser Give Me 5 For Kids, which supports local children's hospital wards across regional Australia. The Bendigo Greyhound Racing Association donated \$7,000 to the cause, while the Mannings Greyhound Complex chimed in with a further \$935, which was based in part on the number of greyhounds that won from the yellow number five rug at Bendigo in June.

After first and second the field finished in the following order 3rd Aston Dee Bee (\$7.70), 4th Striker Light (\$7.80), 5th Jesaulenko (\$5.70), 6th Zinzan Brooke (\$3.20), 7th Tiggeralong Cruz (\$52.70) and 8th Kouta Mayhem (\$4.50).

Landmark is raced by Helen Ivers and trained by Robert Britton he is a Black & White dog whelped September 2013 by Where's Pedro from Tiz Tears (Late Late Show x Tokay Tears). Landmark has won 19 of his 52 starts and has been placed on 21 occasions after the first prize of \$47,000 for the Bendigo Cup his current stake earnings stand at \$129,240.

Listed below is the Bendigo Cup honour roll. The club first raced at the Eaglehawk circuit just out of Bendigo in the 50's. The Cup was run over 400 yards, but for a few years in the 70's saw it go over the 528 metres. When the club moved to Lords Raceway in 1988 the race was conducted over the current sprint distance of 430 metres ever year except 2001 when it was run over the middle distance of 545 metres. A number of top horse-shoe dogs have won the cup over the many years it has been the club's flag ship event. This was the second Cup for 2014 to allow for the feature to move on the calendar to an early July date from this point on and remain at Lords Raceway over the popular distance of 425 metres.

1957 Cantee, 1958 Taranyka, 1959 Slippermee, 1960 Eager Flight, 1961 Sweet Mandy, 1962 Unknown, 1963 Unknown, 1964 Unknown, 1965 Chief Anama, 1966 Unknown, 1967 Unknown, 1968 Rebelaire, 1969 Unknown, 1970 Andrew Takiri, 1971 Melbourne View, 1972 Leicester Edie, 1973 Borough Cheer, 1974 Proper Duke, 1975 Sidanna, 1976 Sue Silin, 1977 Worooa Jack, 1978 Fabey Forbes, 1979 "Not Held",1980 Slick O'Leary, 1981 Official, 1982 Welcome Jag, 1983 Meatworker, 1984 Bronze Wing, 1985 Newstone Flyer, 1986 Stamp Of Learod, 1987 Buka Sunset, 1988 Naphlio, 1989 Mets Man, 1990 Hard Rain, 1991 He's Jake, 1992 Belmont, 1993 Tivoli Man, 1994 Thorgil Tex, 1995 "Not Held", 1996 True Type, 1997 Sarah's Deano, 1998 Lansley Bale, 1999 Tom's Legacy, 2000 Whitten's Legend, 2001 Renzo Bale, 2002 Hey Brother, 2003 Puzzle Prize, 2004 Brumby Lad, 2005 Smack Wallop, 2006 Dragway Flex, 2007 Airbourne Bale, 2008 El Galo, 2009 Taipan Bale, 2010 Latifi Jiam, 2011 Enry Walt and 2012 Peggy May, 2013 Ronan Izmir, 2014 Paw Licking (1) Warrior King (2), 2015 Fernando Bale and 2016 Aston Bolero.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au